February 4, 2008

Trying to NOT pay attention

Posted in Randumb at 4:29 pm by Iram

I’ve decided that I really do like this place. Medical school overall has been a terrific experience. But, every once in a while, you end up with somebody – an administrator, a classmate, a professor – who really makes you wonder about the nature of your future colleagues. I’m sitting in class right now (yes, right now, as I’m writing this post). We’re supposed to be learning about toxicology, but this particular lecturer really has a fighting chance at winning the award for the most disengaging lecturer of all time. Not only did we have an exam this morning, this is the third hour of lecture after a very heavy lunch and I’m beginning to wonder why I even bothered coming. The funny thing is, it’s very easy to gauge how my opinions of a lecture rank amongst the opinions of the rest of my classmates. I signed onto aim, hoping to use it as a means of entertainment. When I first logged in (five minutes into the lecture when I realized that the professor speaks in a monotone that is sure to put me to sleep) there were only three people on my buddy list signed on, and none of them are in medical school. Within the next 15 minutes, about thirty members of my class had logged on as well. I wonder what would happen if all of us just decided to get up and leave and make a bold, although disrespectful, statement about the quality of the lecture. Would they fix it???? I doubt it. But it’s nice to imagine myself doing something like that anyways…

Leave a Reply

