November 10, 2006

My first everything

Posted in Iramville at 11:24 pm by Iram

After dinner today I pulled out a little Dove chocolate for dessert. It’s my new addiction, and I love reading the little messages on the insides of the wrappers. Today, one of the messages out of my little chocolates (opened by Bhavik, btw) was “Remember your first everything.” This started me thinking, because the past eleven weeks have been full of a lot of firsts for me. My first day in medical school, my first patient, my first time living away from home, my first time being fully independent, my first time meeting all of these wonderful people with whom I shall have the pleasure of interacting over the next four years, and the list just keeps going. Thus, I decided to post a tally of firsts since the beginning of medical school so that I can remember them all in upcoming years:

1. My first pediatric patient – a beautiful three day old baby girl

2. My first sport – playing frisbee in the lawn outside the library

3. My first football – I finally learned how to throw! Kudos to Ekta, Omar and Sandeep

4. My first fooseball victory – Omar!

5. My first cadaver – thanks to the Willed Body Program

6. My first tank – John the Knife, Dr. Ray, Renee and Angelique

7. My first time spending an entire night at school – with Bhavik and Padma and Shaqueeshra the Space Heater

8. My first spaghetti iftaar in Lubbock – thanks to Adham

9. My first Ramadan and Eid away from home and family

10. My first sports injury – thanks, Padma, for kicking me in the jaw after tripping me and making me fall flat on my face!

11. My first real Halloween party – I was a jar of Hot Salsa and I had a bag of tortilla chips (Ekta) to accompany me

12. My first game of antakshari via AIM – I won, by the way, because my opponent (Bhavik) signed off

Leave a Reply

