October 10, 2006

Update and deep thoughts

Posted in Iramville, Randumb at 2:51 am by Iram

We just finished the second section of Anatomy, and it is a bit difficult to realize that I’m already two thirds of the way through my very first Block in medical school. With all of the hard work and hours that I’ve been investing into my education each day goes by ridiculously slowy, and yet the weeks seem to fly by at a rapid pace. It feels like just yesterday that I was walking across the stage to have Dr. Dalley give me my white coat, the whole while hoping I wouldn’t make a fool of myself or do anything retarded that would embarrass me in front of the man that many medical students here almost worship. Now, seven weeks later, I can joke with Dr. Dalley as he rushes down the hall to one meeting or another, or I can poke my head into his office when I’m in the general vicinity and say hello (normally en route to the Student Affairs office where we get free coffee and candy). Time is flying by and it won’t be long (iA) before I’m walking across that stage again, but this time with a full length white coat and an air of confidence and resolve.

This bloc in general was a bit odd because a lot of the time I felt like I really was not learning the material the way I wanted to learn it. It can get very frustrating when you spend 10+ hours a day studying something and yet, day after day, you feel like it’s still not sinking in. I definitely hit the peak of that frustration Sunday afternoon, while I was stressing about our Monday exam and praying that I could pass this one the same way I passed the previous one (Alhamdullillah). Even now, after surviving through the exam without a major nervous breakdown, I am not entirely confident that I fully know the head and neck anatomy backwards and forwards. It will definitely be the section that I will have to review again for the final exam and for the Step 1 because I doubt that this will stick as well as the back and arm anatomy stuck.

The head and neck section was good for one thing, though. Our cadaver this time around was a 42 year old male who died of colon cancer. It was a bit shocking to perform the dissection on this body because each time we cut a new structure with the scalpel we were reminded of how young this particular man was when he died, and of how many people we each know who are in that same general age range.  It’s a very scary thought to realize that this body in front of us really could have been anybody. After death, the 42 year old man and the 89 year old woman are almost exactly alike save for a few anatomical protrustions that everybody is aware of and don’t need explanation. I have heard many people say that after death you will take nothing with you. It won’t matter if you were the random hobo on the street corner of Miami or if you were Bill Gates. In the end, you end up in the exact same place. Seeing death face-on through the imagined life of a cadaver really drives home the idea that we should always stress good deeds and moral actions. You never know what breath may be your last, and while your money and status end up in the court of law your deeds will follow you to the grave.

1 Comment »

  1. Van said,

    i like reading about your med school experiences. they make me really hesistant to finish my secondaries though. and as for death, we really do all end up the same. what a thought!


Leave a Reply

