September 8, 2006

Feeling a bit behind

Posted in Iramville at 2:48 pm by Iram

I don’t know why I feel so behind, but for some reason I have this gnawing sensation in the back of my head that tells me that there is so much that I should know by now and don’t. I’ve been studying for hours and hours on end every single day and haven’t taken any time at all in the past three weeks for any sort of leisurely activity, and yet I’m feeling like a slacker. I just don’t know how to explain it. Maybe it has something to do with the pre-exam anxiety. We only have one week left, and with no previous exams to look at I really have no idea what to expect. Plus, until I take the exam I won’t know if I’ve been going in the right direction or not with my studying, and then it’ll be too late. Luckily, I get the idea from the people that I’ve been talking to that I’m not the only one who feels this way. I guess it’s normal for first year medical students to be this nervous before their first exam. Hopefully, it’ll all calm down after September 18 (D-Day).

I did get to see something really interesting in the anatomy lab today. We have a set of siamese twins preserved down there, and today I got to open up their case and poke around to get an idea of what everything looks like when it’s all connected. They shared the same heart (which is why they died fairly immediately after birth) and I was also able to observe a herniated lung in one of the twins, in which the abdominal contents had invaded through the diaphragm into the lung cavity, thereby preventing development of the lung. It was a very sad, yet intriguing, site to see and probably not one that I will quickly forget.

1 Comment »

  1. Aamir said,

    have you tried asking older med students how their first exam was?


Leave a Reply

