August 25, 2006

Drowning in the sea of knowledge

Posted in Iramville at 8:38 pm by Iram

The first week is over. I think it went well, but what more can I say when I’ve put a total of sixty hours into studying just this week alone? I just hope that it doesn’t get any worse. As it is, I feel like I’m struggling to keep my head above the water. The information just keeps growing, and I don’t feel like I’m absorbing it as quickly as I need to. I have come up with a few new learning strategies which I am going to try this weekend, so hopefully those will help me get more on top of things so that all of the information that has passed in front of my eyes over the past five days can stick somewhere in the long term memory file of my brain.

My reflections of this week: Everyone just has to face up to it at some point or another – medical school is difficult and there’s just no way to get around the hard work needed to survive. People keep saying to have fun and to take it easy or take some time off, but you really can’t. Yes, you don’t want to lose your sanity in the process of learning how to help others, but there will be time later to party and celebrate. At the moment, the only important thing is learning everything you can possibly learn so that when a patient comes to you with some random bizarre problem a little lightbulb in the back of your head can click and remind you that somewhere in anatomy lab you discovered the very nerve or muscle that could be the source of your patients’ distress. My goal for the next four years is to make sure that I leave no stone unturned in maximizing my knowledge about the human body and its various processes and ailments.

2 Comments »

  1. atif said,

    You already got in – you don’t need to convince anyone anymore 😛

    Although I might use the last paragraph there for my essay … cheers …

  2. Aamir said,

    try using floaties…

    At the moment, the only important thing is learning everything you can possibly learn so that when a patient comes to you with some random bizarre problem a little lightbulb in the back of your head can click and remind you that somewhere in anatomy lab you discovered the very nerve or muscle that could be the source of your patients’ distress.

    …and commas.


Leave a Reply

