May 3, 2006

Rumi poetry

Posted in Randumb at 8:46 pm by Iram

I have been tricked by flying too close to what I thought I loved.

Now the candleflame is out, the wine spilled, and the lovers have withdrawn somewhere beyond my squinting.

The amount I thought I'd won, I've lost. My prayers become bitter and all about blindness.

How wonderful it was to be for a while with those who surrender.

Others only turn their faces one way, then another, like pigeon in flight.

I have known pigeons who fly in a nowhere, and birds that eat grainlessness,

and tailors who sew beautiful clothes by tearing them to pieces.

(Mathnawi, V. 346-353)

Leave a Reply

