November 29, 2005

Getting my money back

Posted in Iramville at 12:41 am by Iram

I went to the Office of Student Activities today to get reimbursements for all of the money I spent on behalf of the MSA during Ramadan. I had about 8 receipts, and three of them were credit card receipts, meaning that they were from those detached credit card machines that are not hooked up to the cash register so they don’t actually show all of the items I purchased, only the total. The other five receipts were fine, but the office couldn’t accept my three credit card receipts because they need to see the itemized list of everything I spent money on. Why, I ask? Because they want to make sure they’re not reimbursing me for alcohol….for the MUSLIM Student’s Association.

But it gets better. One of these credit card receipts is from a place called Hot Breads, and I got an itemized invoice from them so that I can retry to get my money back. I had purchased cake from this store, and the invoice lists all of the different flavors of cake I had selected, one of which was called “Irish Coffee”. Correct me if I’m wrong, but isn’t Irish Coffee an alcoholic beverage? So isn’t my itemized list more incriminating than my credit card receipt?

1 Comment »

  1. Michael Lawrence said,

    Irish coffee recipe:

    1 1/2 oz Irish whiskey
    1 tsp brown sugar
    6 oz hot coffee
    heavy cream

    http://www.drinksmixer.com/drink4414.html

    Definitely alcoholic.

    The sad truth of the matter is that even the best-intentioned followers of a religion may not adhere to all the principles put forth in the sacred texts. I would expect more Muslims to follow, say, the five pillars of Islam than Hindus to follow, say, vegetarianism because there is far, far more variability in Hinduism. Christians, the group with which I am most intimately familiar, certainly have our “Sunday-School Christians,” i.e. Christians who are Christian only on Sundays during church services.

    That’s the long way of saying, “The Office of Student Activities probably has cause to not implicitly trust all undergraduates requesting money.”

    (And nice Thomas Paine quote a few days back;-))


Leave a Reply

